The State of Texas has mandatory hunting and boating laws that require the student to successfully complete a course in these disciplines should they desire to engage in that activity. The fee for Hunter Education is $15.00 and the fee for Boater Education is $20.00. This fee includes TPWD textbooks and materials.
As a certified instructor for the TPWD, the State of Texas gives us the power/authority to deny any student certification if they exhibit a negative attitude. This policy is well above any local school or school district policies. Certification is an option due to the small fees. All students whether they choose to become certified or not, will receive the same curriculum.
At NO time will firearms be at the school.
The certification fees can be paid along with the corse fee at the beginning of the year. If not, the Hunter Education fee will be due at the end of the fourth week of school and the Boader Education fee will be due the first week of the second semester.
The total cost including the course fees, Hunter Ed., and Boater Ed. is $55.00.